Community Development Department

The Community Development Department consists of three divisions - Planning, Community Development Block Grant/HOME Consortium,  and Code Enforcement

The Planning Division has a staff of four that processes site plans, subdivision plats, and partners with other divisions to review building permits, business licenses and home occupation permits. 

The Community Development Block Grant and HOME Consortium Division has a staff of one that administers grant funds to assist with home repairs and ownership. 

The Code Enforcement Division has a staff of five that processes building permits, and campground permits, along with conducting inspections throughout the city.   

The main office hours for the Community Development Department are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  Code Enforcement office hours are Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m., 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Community Development is located at 104 8th Street in the Ewell Easley Municipal Annex Building at the corner of 8th and Shelby Streets in downtown.  It is located behind the Bristol Tennessee City Hall and the Sullivan County Justice Center. 

For general questions, please call (423) 989-5514 or (423) 989-5515.



Community Development Director - Shari Brown

Office: 104 8th Street Bristol, Tennessee

Phone: 423-764-0343

Fax: 423-989-5717