Engineering

 

 

The Engineering Division consists of the Engineering Section, City Construction Crew Section and the Geographic Information System (GIS) Section.

The Engineering Section provides the City with professional and technical services in the fields of civil and traffic engineering.  The Engineering Section oversees the design and construction of various municipal infrastructure and utility improvements within the City.  These include capital projects initiated by the City and portions of projects built for City ownership by private developers.  The Engineering Section provides two major services:  (1) Design - surveying, preparing and/or reviewing construction plans and specifications, estimating costs, monitoring City construction contracts and updating maps and records; and (2) Development review - reviewing preliminary and final subdivision plats, inspecting water, sewer, street and drainage construction within private developments and reviewing construction plans for commercial/industrial projects. The goal is to ensure infrastructure and utility improvements which meet established engineering standards and code requirements and serve the communityeffectively, efficiently and safely on a long-term basis.

The Geographic Information System (GIS) Section provides the City with professional and technical services by maintaining and expanding the City's GIS.  The GIS Section oversees the analysis, support, maintenance, manipulation, improvement and expansion of the GIS databases, computer hardware and software.  The GIS Section also includes teaching and instruction of other municipal employees in the use of the GIS. The goal is to provide the City with an accurate GIS that allows City staff  to access data which will allow them to perform their jobs more efficiently and effectively.

The City Construction Crew Section provides the City with the ability to construct various infrastructure projects utilizing City manpower and equipment.  The City Construction Crew Section allows the City to utilize monies more effectively due to the reduced cost versus contracting out construction to a private company.

Stormwater Management and Quality - Information regarding the City's National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit and stormwater regulations can be found by clicking the following link:

City of Bristol Stormwater Information

 

 

       City of Bristol Tennessee
       Engineering Division
       212 Blackley Road
       POB 1189
       Bristol, Tennessee 37621-1189

       Phone: (423) 989-5566
       Fax: (423) 989-5695
 

 

 

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Tim Beavers Director of Public Works (423) 989-5565 tbeavers@bristoltn.org
Jonathan Scherer Civil Engineer (423) 989-5500 jscherer@bristoltn.org
Steve Cross Engineering Surveyor (423) 989-5550 scross@bristoltn.org
Ross Peters Engineering Designer (423) 989-5689 rpeters@bristoltn.org
Don Venable Engineering Inspector (423) 646-5252  
Jeff Tester GIS Analyst (423) 989-5559 jtester@bristoltn.org
Jon Hamic GIS Analyst (423) 989-5520 jhamic@bristoltn.org
Tim Eads Construction Crew Superintendent (423) 340-2372 teeads@bristoltn.org
Kim Lawson Administrative Assistant (423) 989-5567 klawson@bristoltn.org
Rex Montgomery Metropolitan Planning Organization (423) 989-5519 rmontgomery@bristoltn.org
David Metzgar Transportation Engineer (423) 989-5522 dmetzgar@bristoltn.org