Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Follow the link to become a vendor.
Business owners should contact the City at (423) 989-5500 for registration information or may register electronically using the Tennessee Department of Revenue's Online Services. All businesses required to submit tax returns and payments must do so electronically. To register for the Business Tax Online Services, a TN.gov account must be created. Accounts allow information to be entered, stored, and managed for accessing TN.gov services. Once a TN.gov account is created, services can be added or removed at any time. If you currently use Sales and Use Tax online, the County and City Business Tax service can be added to your TN.gov account and utilize the same login/password for both applications. There is no charge for creating a TN.gov account or for using the Business Tax online filing service. A $15.00 registration fee is required for all new businesses having standard business licenses and must be paid before the initial license is issued. Businesses having minimal activity licenses are also required to pay a $15.00 initial fee and $15.00 annually to renew their licenses.
Business owners should contact the City at (423) 989-5500 for information about getting a business license. For questions on tax law, filing and paying business taxes, and other account related issues, please contact the Tennessee Department of Revenue at (615) 253-0600 (Nashville-area and out-of-state) or (800) 342-1003 (toll-free in Tennessee).
Sullivan County, Tennessee and City of Bristol, Tennessee staff issue business licenses, or online if done on the state website.
Taxpayers no longer receive annual license renewal forms in the mail. To renew existing business licenses, taxpayers must first file their annual City business tax return with the Tennessee Department of Revenue and pay the tax due. Once the return and payment are processed and posted to the taxpayer's account, the information is made available for the City that a renewal business license can be issued.
City staff is responsible for issuing the business tax license if the contractor is doing business within the City. Contractors living outside Tennessee with no state business location must have a state business account number to report sales in counties where sales fall between $10,000 and $50,000. They must also obtain a Sullivan County license if they have a business location in the County where sales exceed $50,000. They also must obtain a City business license if the contractor has $50,000 or more in sales for the tax reporting period.
No. Figures from an amended return replace amounts reported on the original return. Any payment filed with the original return will be applied to the amended return. If the liability on the amended return is greater that the amount originally reported, only the difference must be paid. If the amount on the amended return is less than what was originally reported, do not submit a payment with the amended return. A credit will be applied to the business tax account.
Yes, if a taxpayer has multiple locations in the City, the taxpayer must make a request to the Commissioner of Revenue to file a consolidated return. Even if approval is granted to file a consolidated return, each location's gross receipt must be accounted for separately on the consolidated return, and a separate license must be obtained for each location.
If you do not reside in Sullivan County, please contact your local health department or health authority.
0-300 sq. ft. $ 0.00
300-3,000 sq. ft. $ 2.00
3,000-6,000 sq. ft. $ 4.00
6,000-9,000 sq. ft. $ 6.00
9,000-15,000 sq. ft. $ 10.00
15,000-21,000 sq. ft. $ 14.00
21,000-30,000 sq. ft. $ 20.00
30,000-42,000 sq. ft. $ 28.00
42,000-57,000 sq. ft. $ 38.00
57,000-75,000 sq. ft. $ 50.00
75,000-99,000 sq. ft. $ 66.00
99,000-125,000 sq. ft. $ 70.00
Over 125,000 sq. ft. $ 80.00
By mail: We accept checks, money orders, and cashiers checks. Payment can be mailed to P.O. Box 1189 Bristol, TN 37621.
Drop Box: You may submit payments with check or money order in our Drop Box located behind the court house on 8th Street. Please do not submit cash.
We do not accept payments by phone.
We do not offer online payments at this time.
Go to bristoltn.org and click on the PAY NOW icon. The next screen will prompt you to select Login or Sign up. Follow the instructions accordingly.
Please contact a Customer Service Representative in the Finance Department by calling (423) 989-5500 or at email@example.com for assistance or to provide suggestions.
Please contact a Customer Service Representative in the Finance Department by calling (423) 989-5500 or at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
In order to cancel your automatic bank draft for your utility account, please contact a Customer Service Representative in the Finance Department by calling (423) 989-5500 or at email@example.com for assistance.
Utility bills are mailed to the responsible party and mailing address listed on the utility account. In order for a spouse or third party to be able to conduct business for a utility account, the spouse or third party must be authorized to do so by the responsible party. At that point they will be added to the account and will also become a responsible party for the account.
Yes. 2.75% of total payment for debit or credit cards. $2.75 flat fee for payment by check. These fees go to the third party vendor that provides the service.
No. The online pay service should be available through any web browser.
The vendor will post a message anytime there is service down time or interruption giving you more information. If the problem persists or there is no message on the site you may contact Business Information Systems at (866)514-5192 or City of Bristol Customer Service at (423) 989-5500 or firstname.lastname@example.org .
The service is provided by a third party vendor, Business Information Systems (BIS). To receive more information on the online security, please contact BIS at (866)514-5192.
Yes. The City of Bristol charges a $20.00 fee for any returned checks or ACH payment.
Click on "make a payment". The next screen will give you the option to edit "Saved Payment Accounts". Follow the instructions accordingly.
If you process as a one-time pay it takes 1-3 days. If you setup as autopay, it will be processed 1 day before your bill is due.
Initially, autopay must be setup 4 days prior to your due date or payment will not be processed until your next billing cycle.
Online and phone payments are not allowed for utility accounts after 12 PM on the day prior to disconnect day. Payment on a disconnected account must be paid in person at City Hall in Room 203 to have service reestablished. There will also be a minimum $30 Service Charge added to the balance.
The online pay service does not allow for multiple accounts to be established under the same utility account registration. Each utility account must be setup separately.
Please select "forgot user/password" and follow instructions accordingly.
The utility account address is where you have instructed your bill to be mailed. The service address is the physical location where the utility services are being provided.